• Wheaton College Artist Series
  • Fischoff Gold Medalists
    Fischoff Gold Medalists AKROPOLIS Reed Quintet || Saturday, September 20
Fischoff Gold Medalists

Bonus Event

Fischoff Gold Medalists AKROPOLIS Reed Quintet || Saturday, September 20 @ 7:30pm • Barrows Auditorium

In 1973, Joseph E. Fischoff and fellow members of the South Bend Chamber Music Society sought an innovative way of encouraging young people to pursue chamber music study and performance. The idea of a competition arose, and that first year, six ensembles participated.

Little did the society members know how their idea would grow. Today, still at home in South Bend, Indiana, the Fischoff Competition is the largest chamber music competition in the nation and the world. Each year, an average of 125 ensembles, representing 22 nationalities, enter in either the wind or string categories of three to six performers. Fischoff is the only national chamber music competition with both senior divisions (ages 18-35) and a junior division (age 18 and younger). Since its founding, more than 6,600 musicians have participated, many of whom have gone on to distinguished careers in music performance and education.

We are proud to present the winners of this year's Senior Division Wind Competition; the Akropolis Reed Quintet. Founded in 2009 and winners of five national chamber music prizes, the Akropolis Reed Quintet is a cutting edge ensemble which performs an innovative, living repertoire with acclaimed precision. In 2011 Akropolis took grand prize at the MTNA and Plowman chamber music competitions consecutively, and in 2012 they were a runner-up at the Yellow Springs National Chamber Music Competition, a silver medalist at the Fischoff Competition, and a bronze medalist at the International Chamber Music Competition held at the New England Conservatory. Akropolis’ dynamic concerts feature modern compositions framed by fresh arrangements of classical music spanning four centuries. Originating at the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor, Akropolis is Tim Gocklin (oboe), Kari Dion (clarinet), Matt Landry (saxophone), Andrew Koeppe (bass clarinet), and Ryan Reynolds (bassoon).


  • Online ordering closes 36 hours before each event.
  • Ticket availability is updated on our voice mail at Option 2.
  • The Box Office opens one hour prior to each event.

Ticket & Box Office Hours

The Ticket and Information Office is open from 8:30a-noon and 1:00p-4:30p, Monday through Friday. The office is located on the first floor of the Student Services Building, next to the Wheaton College Bookstore. Feel free to call ahead and check for special hours.